Contact Us Today 804.290.7990

Virginia Biz Law Blog

Franchise Registration States

Posted by Bernard Dietz | Jun 07, 2007 | 0 Comments

I have mentioned before that certain States require "pre-approval" or registration of franchises before sales are allowed to residents of those States.  So, which States are "registration" States? Here's the list of the fifteen States that require franchise registration:

  1. California
  2. Hawaii
  3. Illinois
  4. Indiana
  5. Maryland
  6. Michigan
  7. Minnesota
  8. New York
  9. North Dakota
  10. Oregon
  11. Rhode Island
  12. South Dakota
  13. Washington
  14. Wisconsin; and, of course
  15. Virginia

If you're considering buying a franchise in any of the States mentioned above, the first thing you should do is check with your State regulatory organization to be sure the franchisor is properly registered to sell franchises.

About the Author

Bernard Dietz

Bernie Dietz is a Virginia lawyer and Virginia business attorney with more than 15 years of experience as both an attorney and a business executive, which gives him a unique view into the special needs of small to medium sized businesses. He has worked in business development, sales, and marketin...


There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.

Leave a Comment


Bernie Dietz is committed to answering your questions about business transactional law issues in Virginia.

I'll gladly discuss your case with you at your convenience. Contact me today to schedule an appointment.